the floorball times
about us


singapore floorball league 2008
sfl2008      teams       schedule      results        previews        reviews          tables   
The Singapore Floorball League (SFL) is the national floorball league for Singapore.  SFL2008 features the Men's and Ladies' Division 1, which will be played from January to April 2008.  The Men's Divisions 2 and 3, and the Ladies' Division 2 will be played later in the year from around May/June 2008.

The Men's Division 1 will feature 12 teams, with all teams playing each other once in a single round-robin format.  3 points will be given for a win, 1 point for a draw and no points for a loss.  The champion team will be the team with the highest number of points at the end of the 11-matches round-robin series. The bottom 2 teams will be relegated to Division 2 for SFL2009.

The Ladies' Division 1 will feature 10 teams, using the same single round-robin format and point scoring system.  The champion team will be the team with the highest number of points at the end of the 9-matches round-robin series.  The bottom team will be relegated to Division 2 for SFL2009.
sfl2008 season preview  (7 Jan 2008)
The SFL2008 season will be a strange but exciting one.  Strange because it will be missing some of the biggest stars from the last few seasons when it rolls off in January 2008.  In the Men's Division 1, the missing names include such illustrious players as Kristian Olsson, Alex Tavs and Timothy Quek, while the Ladies' Division 1 will see the absence of Jill Quek, Emily Koh.  Exciting because of the emergence and development of young and upcoming starlets to become household floorball icons in Singapore.  Strange and exicting too will be the venue or venues.  With Tampines Sports Hall due to undergo renovation early in Feb 2008, SFL2008 will move to be played at the new spanking Jurong West Sports Complex after the Chinese New Year break.

Men's defending champion Moosemen have undergone some reshuffling of players, mostly with Z-Athletica Red Flamingoes, as could be seen in the Pesta Sukan Cup 2007, when both teams met in the final.  Both teams will start as among the favourites, together with Skools Innebandy, while Pasirian Hitmen will loom as dark horses for the title.

In the Ladies' Division 1, LMFC2011 will no doubt miss the talismanic Jill Quek while she is away playing in the Finnish league.  Skools OSB Owls, who have strengthened their defensive ranks with the recruitment of key players such as Widyawilis Selamat and Lily Suriani Tan (both formerly from NTU Tempest), will be the overwhelming favourites to bag the title, while NUS Titans will be serious contenders.  LMFC2011's chances will hinge on how well they cope with Jill Quek's absence. 

FloorballX would like to wish all SFL2008 players good luck in the upcoming league, and a wonderful, exciting and entertaining season for all avid floorball fans following the league.